Cheapest third-party road test in Dallas-Fort Worth (2026): every posted price, sorted
Updated October 22, 2026. Prices re-checked on each school’s own website on October 22, 2026. This site is independent and not affiliated with DPS, TDLR, or any driving school. No school paid to be listed or ranked on this page, and there are no affiliate links or featured (paid) spots on it.
DPS lets certified driving schools give the official Class C road test, and it does not set their prices: fees for a drive test given by a driver education school “are not regulated by the Department”[1]. So prices vary a lot across DFW. DPS lists 99 road-test sites in the 11 DFW counties, run by 69 schools (some appear under slightly different names on the DPS list)[2]. We found a road-test price on the school’s own website for 31 schools (52 sites). The rest are listed below as “price not posted.”
How to read this table
- Lowest posted price is the lowest road-test price the school shows on its page, even if it only applies to its own students or past customers. We sort by it.
- Price for a new customer is the lowest standard road-test price the page shows for someone who isn’t a current or former student. For schools that post separate teen and adult prices, this is the adult price.
- Who it’s for, Car, Attempts: filled in only where the school’s page says so. “Not stated” means the page doesn’t say; ask the school.
- Prices don’t include the DPS license fee you pay separately (for example, $33 for a new license at age 18–84, $16 under 18)[3].
All 31 DFW schools with a posted road-test price, cheapest first
| # | School and DFW test site(s) | Lowest posted price | Price for a new customer (not a student) | Who the price is for (as posted) | Car | Attempts / retests | Other conditions | Source (school’s own page) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Quad Cities Driving School 1 DPS test site: Duncanville | $50 | $50 | not stated | $50 with the school’s car; $60 in your own car | not stated | Exams must be scheduled in advance | quadcitiesdrivertrainingschool.com (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 2 | Metro Driving School, Inc. 1 DPS test site: Hurst | $60 | $70 | $60 previous customers; $70 new customers | not stated | 3 attempts on 3 separate dates at this price | Road tests Monday–Saturday; cash or card | metro-driving.com (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 3 | Elite Driving Academy 1 DPS test site: Dallas | $60 | $85 | $60 for enrolled Elite students (academy vehicle) | Walk-in: $85 in your own vehicle (insurance required); $100 in the academy’s vehicle | Retest $25 | $50 travel fee for students outside Dallas County | elitedriving.academy (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 4 | Road To Success Driving School 1 DPS test site: Plano | $65 | $80 | $65 current or former Road to Success students; $80 all others | School car +$30 | not stated | roadtosuccessdrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-22) | |
| 5 | A Addison Driving School 1 DPS test site: Addison | $70 | $70 | not stated | Rent a car for the test +$30 (one-time) | $70 first attempt; $30 second attempt | aaddisondrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-22) | |
| 6 | A Asia Driving School 1 DPS test site: Plano | $70 | $70 | Eligible teen and adult drivers | Personal vehicle allowed; school car +$30 | not stated | aasiadrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-22) | |
| 7 | AA Adult Driving School 1 DPS test site: Irving | $70 | $70 | Adults $70, teens $80 | $70 is without the school car; adult test with school car $95 | 2nd attempt without car $50 | Online-booking prices (regular $85 adult / $95 teen); posted as a “Summer Special” | aaadultdrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 8 | AA Smart Driving School, LLC. (AKA, AA Adult Driving School) 1 DPS test site: Irving | $70 | $70 | Adults $70, teens $80 | $70 is without the school car; adult test with school car $95 | 2nd attempt without car $50 | Online-booking prices (regular $80 adult / $90 teen); posted as a “Summer Special” | aasmartdrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 9 | A+ Academy Driving School, LLC also listed as A+ Academy Driving School, LLC. 3 DPS test sites: Arlington, Duncanville, Grand Prairie | $75 | $75 | not stated | not stated | not stated | $75 weekdays; $100 Saturdays | a-plus-academy-driving-school.com (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 10 | Arlington Driving Academy 1 DPS test site: Arlington | $75 | $75 | not stated | $75 in your own vehicle; $100 with car rental | not stated | arlingtondrivingacademy.com (checked 2026-10-22) | |
| 11 | Crossroad Driving School 1 DPS test site: Plano | $75 | $75 | not stated | not stated | not stated | crossroaddrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-22) | |
| 12 | Driving School of North Texas 3 DPS test sites: Allen, Frisco | $75 | $75 | Teens and adults | School car +$50 (rental waiver required) | $40 fee to retake after failing | Non-refundable | drivingschoolofnorthtexas.com (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 13 | Right Start Driving School also listed as Right Start Driving School, LLC 2 DPS test sites: Carrollton, Corinth | $75 | $75 | Teen test (ages 16–18 with approved teen driver ed) or adult test (18+), both $75 | not stated | 2 attempts; second within 90 days of the first | rightstartdrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-22) | |
| 14 | Southlake Driving School 1 DPS test site: Southlake | $75 | $75 | not stated | Own vehicle allowed; school car +$50 (reserve ahead) | not stated | southlakedrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-22) | |
| 15 | Bruton Driving School 1 DPS test site: Dallas | $79 | $79 | not stated | not stated | not stated | Plus tax and processing; call for an appointment | brutondrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 16 | A2Z Driving School Dallas 1 DPS test site: Grand Prairie | $80 | $80 | not stated | School car +$25 per road test | $80 first attempt; same-day 2nd attempt $40 | a2zdrivingschool.us (checked 2026-10-22) | |
| 17 | Drive Auto Driving School 3 DPS test sites: Carrollton, Irving, McKinney | $80 | $80 | Adult and teen | not stated | not stated | driveautodrivingschool.us (checked 2026-10-22) driveautodrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-22) | |
| 18 | Drive Smart Driving School 1 DPS test site: Carrollton | $80 | $80 | not stated | School car included | not stated | Appointment required; same-day test $100, cash only, Mon–Fri, subject to availability | drivingschoolcarrollton.com (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 19 | Ideal Driving School 1 DPS test site: Plano | $80 | $80 | not stated | not stated | Re-test $40 each time | Listed as down from $100 | idealdrivingschooldallas.com (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 20 | Quick Driving School 1 DPS test site: Irving | $80 | $80 | not stated | School car +$30 | not stated | quickdriving.us (checked 2026-10-22) | |
| 21 | Secure Lane Driving School LLC 2 DPS test sites: Anna, Dallas | $80 | $80 | not stated | $80 is a single test in your vehicle; 2 tests in your vehicle $100; 2 tests in the school’s vehicle $140 | Single test at $80 | securelanedrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-22) | |
| 22 | 1-Street Wise Driving Schools 1 DPS test site: Grand Prairie | $80 | $100 | $80 current Street Wise students; $100 non-students | Vehicle rental +$45 | not stated | streetwisedrivingschools.com (checked 2026-10-22) | |
| 23 | Transitions Driving Academy 1 DPS test site: Garland | $87 | $87 | not stated | not stated | Retests $47 weekdays, $57 Saturdays | $87 Mon–Fri walk-in or appointment; $97 Saturdays by appointment | transitionsdriving.com (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 24 | Iqra Driving School LLC 1 DPS test site: Irving | $90 | $90 | not stated | School car included | not stated | Free pickup and drop-off in Irving | iqradrivingschool.us (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 25 | 1-2-3 Driving School 1 DPS test site: Garland | $100 | $100 | not stated | Includes the school’s vehicle (you may also use yours) | not stated | $10 off if you pay one day in advance | 1-2-3driving.com (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 26 | Best Driving School 1 DPS test site: Plano | $100 | $100 | Open to eligible students from other schools | not stated | not stated | $140 with a warm-up practice drive | bestdrivingschool.us (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 27 | Easy Driver's Ed also listed as Easy Drivers Ed 3 DPS test sites: Carrollton, Greenville, Richardson | $100 | $100 | not stated | $100 is in your own vehicle; school vehicle +$20 | Retake $40; VIP test $140 includes a free retake | No extra charge for weekend testing | easydriversed.com (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 28 | Hanin Driving School 2 DPS test sites: Dallas | $100 | $100 | not stated | not stated | not stated | Same-day road test available (call) | haninds.com (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 29 | Maverick Driving Academy also listed as Maverick Driving Academy, LLC 5 DPS test sites: Aledo, Burleson, Mansfield, Willow Park | $110 | $140 | $110 if you previously bought a Maverick service; $140 all others | School vehicle if one is available | Includes a free reschedule/retest | maverickdrivingacademy.com (checked 2026-10-22) | |
| 30 | Blue Ridge Driving School LLC 1 DPS test site: Blue Ridge | $130 | $130 | not stated | not stated | not stated | Price is for “Road Test and Paperwork Upload” | brdrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-22) |
| 31 | Collision Free Driver Ed 7 DPS test sites: Frisco, Hurst, Keller, Mansfield | $159 | $159 | not stated | not stated | not stated | $159 each | driveredinabox.com (checked 2026-10-22) |
Ties are broken by the price for a new customer, then by name. Schools with more than one DFW test site appear once; the cities are the DPS-listed test sites. Addresses and phone numbers for every site are on the DFW road-test page.
Who should pick what
- No car of your own: look for “school car included” or a posted car fee in the Car column. Quad Cities ($50 with its car) and Drive Smart ($80, car included) post a price that already includes the school’s car; many others add $20–$50.
- Want a second chance at the same price: Metro Driving School posts 3 attempts on separate dates for $70 (new customers); Right Start posts 2 attempts for $75; Maverick says every road test includes a free reschedule/retest.
- Need a test today: Drive Smart (same-day $100, cash, weekdays), Hanin (“Same-Day Road Test Available”) and Elite (walk-in) say so on their pages. Call first.
- Weekend: A+ Academy ($100 Saturdays), Transitions ($97 Saturdays) and Easy Drivers Ed (no extra weekend charge) post weekend terms.
DFW road-test listings with no posted price (40)
These schools are on the DPS road-test list for the DFW counties, but we didn’t find a road-test price on their own website when we checked (October 21, 2026). That doesn’t mean they’re more expensive; call them. We never publish prices from phone calls or third-party sites.
| School (DPS listing) | DFW test site city/cities | Phone (as DPS lists it) | Road-test price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1-A ALO Driving School | Irving | 214-862-6365 | Price not posted |
| A2Z Driving School Dallas | Coppell | 469-289-8600 | Price not posted Same school name as #16 in the table above, but this DPS listing has no website or a different one, and the school’s price page doesn’t say it covers this site. Ask the school. |
| AC Driving School | Midlothian | 903-815-4501 | Price not posted |
| AK Driving School | Irving | 469-386-5135 | Price not posted |
| All American Driving School | Garland | 214-957-0101 | Price not posted |
| All Star Driving School Inc. | Dallas | 972-385-8770 | Price not posted |
| Asian Driving School | Plano | 214-424-2222 | Price not posted |
| Austin Driving School | Arlington | 817-561-0002 | Price not posted |
| Automatico Driving School | Garland | 903-441-7430 | Price not posted |
| Burleson Driving Academy | Burleson, North Richland Hills, Weatherford | 817-447-0009 | Price not posted |
| Coastline Academy | Fort Worth, Mansfield | 682-400-0133 | Price not posted |
| Collision Free Driver Ed | Keller | 1-800-562-6405 | Price not posted Same school name as #31 in the table above, but this DPS listing has no website or a different one, and the school’s price page doesn’t say it covers this site. Ask the school. |
| Community Driving School | Fort Worth | 817-605-9116 | Price not posted |
| Dallas Driving School | Dallas | 214-272-3700 | Price not posted |
| Desi Driving School | Richardson | 972-437-4740 | Price not posted |
| DFW Driving School | Plano | 972-845-7979 | Price not posted |
| Drive Safe Driving School | Irving | 214-230-7900 | Price not posted |
| DriversTest Now | Frisco | 972-987-5641 | Price not posted |
| Driving School of Mansfield | Mansfield | 817-260-1020 | Price not posted |
| First Class Driving School | Fort Worth | 817-731-0200 | Price not posted |
| Green Light Driving Academy | Boyd, Fort Worth, Grapevine, Roanoke, Saginaw | 817-310-0193 | Price not posted |
| Hurst Euless Bedford Driving School | Bedford | 817-786-8043 | Price not posted |
| Kaisar’s Driving School LLC | Frisco | 469-740-5327 | Price not posted |
| Learn2Drive Academy LLC | Euless | 817-925-7919 | Price not posted |
| Mansfield Driving Academy | Mansfield | 214-282-2019 | Price not posted |
| Medina Discount Driving School | Irving | 214-991-2556 | Price not posted |
| Midlothian Driving School | Midlothian | 972-775-6000 | Price not posted |
| MT Driving School | Arlington | 817-565-9226 | Price not posted |
| Oneway Driver Training School, Inc | Lewisville | 972-219-8885 | Price not posted |
| Pioneer Drivers Education School, LLC | Cedar Hill | 972-637-3131 | Price not posted |
| Ramp Driving School | Arlington | 214-480-6876 / 817-887-7267 | Price not posted |
| Red Oak Driving School | Red Oak | 972-850-0990 | Price not posted |
| Statewide Testing, Inc. | Fort Worth | 817-773-6686 | Price not posted |
| T and D Driving Academy | Greenville | 903-454-4544 | Price not posted |
| The Driving Institute | Southlake | 682-558-6234 | Price not posted |
| Top Professional Driving School | Dallas | 214-242-9762 | Price not posted |
| Ultimate Driving School | Rowlett | 972-463-0732 | Price not posted |
| Vista Ridge Driving School, Inc | Flower Mound | 972-539-6992 | Price not posted |
| Waxahachie Driving School | Waxahachie | 972-937-5606 | Price not posted |
| Wylie Driving School | Wylie | 972-442-6200 | Price not posted |
Changes since our last check
- Right Start Driving School: our earlier note of a $25 school-car charge is no longer on its road-test page, so we removed it.
- Street Wise: its page now also posts an $80 price for current Street Wise students (non-students still $100).
- Elite Driving Academy: its page posts a $60 road test for enrolled Elite students, in addition to the $85/$100 walk-in prices.
- All 31 DFW price pages answered when we re-checked on October 22, 2026; none returned a 404. One (Southlake Driving School) blocked our automated checker, so we read it in a browser-style fetch; the posted $75 fee was unchanged.
Before you book
- Check that you qualify for a school-given test (age, driver ed certificate, learner license, Impact Texas Drivers certificate within 90 days)[1]. Our guide walks through it: How to get a Texas road test without waiting months at DPS.
- If you use your own car, schools commonly require current registration, inspection, insurance and working lights. Ask the school for its list.
- Prices change. Confirm the price, the car, and the number of attempts when you book.
“Price not posted” means we did not find a road-test price on the school’s own website when we checked on October 21, 2026. Call the school. Prices change; always confirm before you book. DPS says fees for tests given by driver education schools “are not regulated by the Department” (DPS).
Sources
- DPS: Third Party Skills Testing (TPST) Program
- DPS: Schedule a drive test at an authorized TPST school (school list)
- DPS: Driver License Fees
- TDLR: Driver education license data files
School list: DPS TPST list, retrieved October 21, 2026. Metro = Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hunt, Kaufman, Rockwall, Johnson, Parker, Tarrant and Wise counties. Prices: each school’s own page, linked in the table, with the date we checked it. We don’t rate or rank school quality; the order is by posted price only.