Cheapest third-party road test in Houston (2026): every posted price, sorted
Updated October 24, 2026. Every price below was re-checked on the school’s own website on October 24, 2026. This site is independent and not affiliated with DPS, TDLR, or any driving school. No school paid to be listed or ranked on this page, and there are no affiliate links or featured (paid) spots on it.
Texas lets certified driving schools give the official Class C road test, and DPS does not set what they charge: fees for a drive test given by a driver education school “are not regulated by the Department”[1]. Across the 9-county Houston area (Harris, Fort Bend, Montgomery, Brazoria, Galveston, Liberty, Waller, Chambers, Austin), DPS lists 132 road-test sites run by about 82 schools (some appear under slightly different names)[2]. We found a road-test price on the school’s own website for 16 schools (46 sites). The rest are listed below as “price not posted.”
People without a car often look for a school that supplies one. One r/houston poster in October 2025 wrote that they didn’t have “a car or any friends with a car” and planned to test “at a driving school that will provide a car for a fee”[5]. The Car column below shows what each school’s page says about that.
How to read this table
- Lowest posted price is the lowest road-test price on the school’s page, even if it applies only to its own students. We sort by it. (Tests bundled free into a full course package are not counted.)
- Price for a new adult customer is the lowest standard road-test price the page shows for someone who isn’t a current or former student.
- Who, Car, Attempts: filled in only where the page says so. “Not stated” means the page doesn’t say; ask the school.
- Prices don’t include the DPS license fee you pay separately (for example, $33 for a new license at age 18–84, $16 under 18)[3].
All 16 Houston-area schools with a posted road-test price, cheapest first
| # | School and Houston-area test site(s) | Lowest posted price | Price for a new adult customer | Who the price is for (as posted) | Car | Attempts / retests | Other conditions | Source (school’s own page) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | A-Plus Driving School 2 DPS test sites: Spring (Harris Co.) | $75 | $75 | not stated | $75 is in your own road-ready vehicle. Renting the school’s car: call to reserve after booking, pay at the test (the page doesn’t clearly say if that is extra; ask) | 3 chances to pass; retests before your Impact certificate expires (90 days) | Book online | a-plus-driving.com (checked 2026-10-24) |
| 2 | Cy Fair Driving School also listed as Cy Fair Driving School (Mobile Location) 7 DPS test sites: Cypress, Houston (Harris Co.) | $75 | $75 | not stated | School car at no extra cost (reserve in advance) | Up to three chances to pass | Openings 7 days a week (per the page) | cyfairdrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-24) |
| 3 | Zeno's A-1 Driving School 1 DPS test site: Houston (Harris Co.) | $75 | $75 | not stated | Included “if needed” (rental of a driver education vehicle) | Two attempts included | Includes a parallel-parking review; weekend early / after-hours testing $90 | zenodrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-24) |
| 4 | SafeGuard Driving School 1 DPS test site: Houston (Harris Co.) | $75 | $99 | Ages 18–24: $75 if you took its 6-hour course, $99 otherwise. Ages 16–17: $99 for non-Safeguard students (included in its packages) | not stated | not stated | Testing Mon–Fri 9–5, Sat 9–3 | safeguarddriving.com (checked 2026-10-24) |
| 5 | Sharpstown Driving School 1 DPS test site: Houston (Harris Co.) | $75 | $100 | $75 for its own adult students (your car, no prep); teens from its 32-hour class $50 | $100 is in your own car with no prep; $125 for non-students with prep | not stated | $25 non-refundable deposit to book (applied to the test) | sharpstowndrivingschoolhouston.com (checked 2026-10-24) |
| 6 | Excellent Driving School 1 DPS test site: Houston (Harris Co.) | $95 | $95 | not stated | not stated | not stated | Book and pay online; Katy and Houston locations | excellentdrivingschool.us (checked 2026-10-24) |
| 7 | Road Ready Driving School, LLC 1 DPS test site: Houston (Harris Co.) | $99 | $99 | not stated | Your car or the school’s | not stated | Pay online; the school calls to set a time | roadreadydrivingschooltx.com (checked 2026-10-24) |
| 8 | Smart Way Driving School also listed as Smart Way Driving School (Remote) 2 DPS test sites: Friendswood, Houston (Galveston, Harris Co.) | $99.95 | $99.95 | Same price for teen, 18–24 and 25+ tests | School vehicle provided | not stated | smartwaydriving.com (checked 2026-10-24) | |
| 9 | Astroworld Driving Academy 1 DPS test site: Houston (Harris Co.) | $100 | $100 | not stated | Car included | 50% off a 2nd attempt | Same-day appointments listed; $150 lesson-plus-test package | astroworldda.com (checked 2026-10-24) |
| 10 | Gulf Coast Driving Academy 1 DPS test site: Lake Jackson (Brazoria Co.) | $100 | $100 | not stated | School car +$50 cash or +$55 online | not stated | $100 cash (exact change) at the office or $105 online, paid 24 hours ahead; no refund for no-shows | gulfcoastdriving.net (checked 2026-10-24) |
| 11 | Prime Time Driving School 1 DPS test site: Houston (Harris Co.) | $100 | $100 | Teens and adults | Car rental +$50 | not stated | Listed as a “special price”; car rental for a test at a DPS office $250 | ptdrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-24) |
| 12 | Southside Driving Centre 2 DPS test sites: Houston (Harris Co.) | $110 | $110 | not stated | Uses the school’s vehicle | not stated | Same-day appointments; optional 30-minute prep $50 | southsidedriving.org (checked 2026-10-24) |
| 13 | Driver's Point Driving School 2 DPS test sites: Crosby, Houston (Harris Co.) | $150 | $150 | not stated | not stated | not stated | Pick-up and drop-off by request (services page) | driverspointdrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-24) |
| 14 | Katy Driving School, LLC 1 DPS test site: Katy (Fort Bend Co.) | $150 | $150 | not stated | School cars for rent “for a fee” (amount not posted) | Includes 1 free retest if needed | Paperwork must be brought to the office to book; a parent must be present for anyone under 18 | katydrivingschool.net (checked 2026-10-24) |
| 15 | Collision Free Driver Ed 14 DPS test sites: Alvin, Houston, Katy, Kingwood, Pearland, Spring (Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery Co.) | $159 | $159 | not stated | School vehicle +$45 | not stated | $159 per test; some sites are meeting points in parking lots | driveredinabox.com (checked 2026-10-24) |
| 16 | SafeWay Driving also listed as SafeWay Driving Centers 8 DPS test sites: Bellaire, Houston, Katy, Kingwood, Missouri City, Spring, Sugar Land, The Woodlands (Fort Bend, Harris, Montgomery Co.) | $169 | $199 | $169 SafeWay students; $199 everyone else | not stated | not stated | safewaydriving.com (checked 2026-10-24) |
Ties are broken by the new-customer price, then by name. Schools with more than one test site appear once; the cities are the DPS-listed sites. Addresses and phones for every site are on the Houston-area road-test page, and sites inside the 610 Loop are on the inside-the-Loop page.
Who should pick what
- No car of your own: these pages say the posted price includes the school’s car or that the school provides one: Cy Fair Driving School, Zeno's A-1 Driving School, Smart Way Driving School, Astroworld Driving Academy, Southside Driving Centre. Others add a car fee ($45–$55 where posted) or don’t say.
- Want a second chance: Cy Fair (up to three chances for $75), A-Plus (3 chances for $75 in your car), Zeno’s A-1 (two attempts included) and Katy Driving School (1 free retest at $150) post extra attempts. Astroworld lists 50% off a second attempt.
- Need it soon: Astroworld and Southside list same-day appointments; Cy Fair says it has openings 7 days a week. Call first.
- Already a student somewhere: Sharpstown ($75 for its students), Safeguard ($75 for ages 18–24 who took its 6-hour course) and SafeWay ($169 for its students) post lower prices for their own students.
Houston-area road-test listings with no posted price (66)
These schools are on the DPS road-test list for the Houston-area counties, but we didn’t find a road-test price on their own website. That doesn’t mean they cost more; call them. We never publish prices from phone calls or third-party sites.
| School (DPS listing) | Test site city/cities | County | Phone (as DPS lists it) | Road-test price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 111 Driving School | Houston | Harris | 832-288-3392 | Price not posted |
| 1st Priority Driving School | Channelview | Harris | 713-364-3231 | Price not posted |
| 3-Way Instruction | Humble | Harris | 281-764-5113 | Price not posted |
| A-1 Driving School LLC | Dickinson | Galveston | 832-315-4929 | Price not posted |
| A-Plus Advantage Driving School | Houston | Harris | 281-215-3233 | Price not posted |
| AAA Third Party Service | Houston | Harris | 281-564-0805 | Price not posted |
| All Ages Driving School | Cypress, Houston, Sugar Land | Fort Bend, Harris | 281-232-7787 | Price not posted |
| All Ages Driving School - South East | Pasadena | Harris | 713-947-7322 | Price not posted |
| Alvin Street Wise Driving School | Alvin | Brazoria | 281-756-9269 | Price not posted |
| Amazing A+ Driving School | Crosby | Harris | 281-328-1356 | Price not posted |
| Apex Driving School | Houston | Harris | 281-858-5200 | Price not posted |
| Automotive Education | Houston | Harris | 713-443-2189 | Price not posted |
| Baytown Driving School | Baytown | Harris | 832-602-8902 | Price not posted |
| Best Economical Student Training (Driving School) | Houston | Harris | 713-697-1845 | Price not posted |
| Brighter Future Driving School | Houston | Harris | 281-650-1067 or 713-283-0249 | Price not posted |
| Broussard Enterprise | Houston | Harris | 713-524-7444 | Price not posted |
| Champions Driving School | Houston, Pinehurst | Harris, Montgomery | 281-477-6177 | Price not posted |
| Coastline Academy | Richmond | Fort Bend | 281-762-0958 | Price not posted |
| Colony / Courtesy Driving School | Katy | Harris | 281-265-2277 | Price not posted |
| Conroe Driving School | Conroe | Montgomery | 936-661-0094 | Price not posted |
| Costal Driving Services, Inc | Houston | Harris | 713-227-2099 | Price not posted |
| Cypress Creek Driving Academy | Cypress, Houston, Spring | Harris | 832-705-1555 | Price not posted |
| Cypress Driving Academy TDLR | Cypress | Harris | 832-593-9170 | Price not posted |
| Cypress Driving School | Cypress, Houston, League City, Magnolia | Galveston, Harris, Montgomery | 281-455-0609 | Price not posted |
| Drive2U | Houston | Harris | 832-573-9600 | Price not posted |
| Drivers License Training School | Houston | Harris | 713-227-4409 | Price not posted |
| E-Z Driving School | Houston | Harris | 281-444-0200 | Price not posted |
| El Sur Int'l Driving School | Houston | Harris | 281-492-6272 | Price not posted |
| Elite Driving School | Humble | Harris | 281-446-2608 | Price not posted |
| Family Driving School | Houston | Harris | 832-830-4560 | Price not posted |
| Friendswood Driving School | Friendswood | Galveston | 281-996-9404 | Price not posted |
| G & P Community Driving School | Porter | Montgomery | 281-354-8910 | Price not posted |
| Houston Area Driving Schools | Bellaire | Harris | 713-349-9888 | Price not posted |
| Houston Driving School | Houston | Harris | 713-782-3100 | Price not posted |
| ILA Driving School | Houston | Fort Bend | 832-640-8362 | Price not posted |
| Imperial Driving School | Sugar Land | Fort Bend | 346-464-5372 | Price not posted |
| Island Driving School | Galveston, La Porte, Texas City | Galveston, Harris | 832-425-1457 | Price not posted |
| Jetro Driving School | Houston | Harris | 281-577-7371 | Price not posted |
| Khan Driving Academy | Houston | Harris | 713-585-5441 | Price not posted |
| Liberty Driving School | Houston | Harris | 281-564-9717 | Price not posted |
| Lola Escuela De Manejo | Houston, Rosenberg | Fort Bend, Harris | 713-585-5611 | Price not posted |
| Monroy Driving School | Houston | Harris | 713-239-2275 | Price not posted |
| MT Driving School | Houston | Harris | 832-640-9567 | Price not posted |
| MVP Driving School | Houston | Harris | 281-495-0463 | Price not posted |
| My First Drive Driving School | Richmond, Sugar Land | Fort Bend | 832-975-1950 | Price not posted |
| Nova Driving School Texas | Humble | Harris | 281-764-5113 | Price not posted |
| RAN Driving School LLC | Katy | Fort Bend | 832-437-0228 | Price not posted |
| Riverstone Driving Academy | Rosenberg | Fort Bend | 281-239-3409 | Price not posted |
| Saenz Driving School | Houston | Harris | 281-448-0430 or 281-216-6883 | Price not posted |
| Safety Center Driving School | Houston, Stafford | Fort Bend, Harris | 281-499-3624 | Price not posted |
| Sam's Driving School | Richmond | Fort Bend | 281-76-0958 | Price not posted |
| Silverlake Driving School | Pearland | Brazoria | (281) 485-2811 | Price not posted |
| Sky's The Limit Driving Academy | Katy | Harris | 281-216-3137 | Price not posted |
| Smile Driving School | Katy | Harris | 713-933-9961 | Price not posted |
| South Region Driving School | League City, Texas City | Galveston | 832-632-1329 | Price not posted |
| Southern American Driving School | Houston | Harris | 832-277-7226 | Price not posted |
| Southside Driving Centre | Houston | Harris | 346-319-4704 | Price not posted |
| Spring Driving School | Houston, Spring | Harris | 346-493-5160 | Price not posted |
| Straight Forward Driving School | Katy | Fort Bend | 713-257-0997 | Price not posted |
| Street Smart Driving School | League City | Galveston | 281-338-6565 | Price not posted |
| Success Driving Academy, Inc | Katy | Harris | 281-579-0404 | Price not posted |
| Sugar Land Driving School | Sugar Land | Fort Bend | 281-568-4400 | Price not posted |
| Tomball Driving School | Tomball | Harris | 832-334-5203 | Price not posted |
| Tu Licencia en Espanol LLC | Houston | Harris | 832-855-5875 | Price not posted |
| Uncle Joe Driving School | Katy | Fort Bend | 281-416-5266 | Price not posted |
| West Houston Driving School | Richmond | Fort Bend | 832-525-6570 | Price not posted |
Before you book
- Check that you qualify for a school-given test (age, driver ed certificate, learner license, Impact Texas Drivers certificate within 90 days)[1]. Our guide walks through it: How to get a Texas road test without waiting months at DPS.
- If you use your own car, schools commonly require current registration, inspection, insurance and front and rear plates. Ask the school for its list.
- Confirm the price, the car, the number of attempts and any deposit when you book. Prices change.
In DFW instead? See the cheapest third-party road test in Dallas-Fort Worth.
“Price not posted” means we did not find a road-test price on the school’s own website when we checked on October 21, 2026. Call the school. Prices change; always confirm before you book. DPS says fees for tests given by driver education schools “are not regulated by the Department” (DPS).
Sources
- DPS: Third Party Skills Testing (TPST) Program
- DPS: Schedule a drive test at an authorized TPST school (school list)
- DPS: Driver License Fees
- TDLR: Driver education license data files
- r/houston: “Third party driving test recommendations?” (Oct 2025)
School list: DPS TPST list, retrieved October 21, 2026; Houston area = Harris, Fort Bend, Montgomery, Brazoria, Galveston, Liberty, Waller, Chambers, Austin counties. Prices: each school’s own page, linked in the table, all re-checked October 24, 2026 (all 16 pages loaded; none returned a 404, and no posted price had changed since our previous check). We don’t rate or rank school quality; the order is by posted price only.