Third-party road test in Plano, Frisco, McKinney & Allen (2026)
Updated October 25, 2026. Every price below was re-checked on the school’s own website on October 25, 2026. This site is independent and not affiliated with DPS, TDLR, or any driving school. No school paid to be listed or ranked on this page.
You don’t have to wait for a DPS office appointment to take your Texas driving test. DPS lets certified driving schools give the official Class C road test[1], and DPS lists 20 school-run road-test sites in Collin County and Frisco: Frisco (8) · Plano (7) · Allen (1) · Anna (1) · Blue Ridge (1) · McKinney (1) · Wylie (1). This page lists all of them, with each school’s own posted price.
People in the area ask about this. One r/plano commenter noted that you can take the written test at a driving school and that “some of them are able to do the practical test”[6]. A 16-year-old in r/frisco asked where to take the DPS road test, and replies told them to practice parallel parking rather than look for an “easy” spot[5]. We don’t rate schools or say where tests are easier. This page lists who is authorized and what each school posts.
Posted road-test prices, cheapest first (12 schools)
“Lowest posted price” is the lowest road-test price on the school’s page, even if it applies only to its own students. “Not stated” means the page doesn’t say. Terms come only from each school’s page (read October 22, 2026; DFW Driving School and Kaisar’s read October 25, 2026).
| # | School and test site(s), as DPS lists them | Lowest posted price | Price for a new adult customer | Who the price is for (as posted) | Car | Attempts | Other terms the page states | Source | TDLR license |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Road To Success Driving School 909 W. Spring Creek, Suite 420, Plano 75023 · 214-991-1406 | $65 | $80 | $65 current or former Road to Success students; $80 all others | School car +$30 | not stated | roadtosuccessdrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-25) | C2479 (name match) | |
| 2 | A Asia Driving School 2828 West Park Rd Ste #105, Plano 75075 · 214-606-0063 | $70 | $70 | Eligible teen and adult drivers | Personal vehicle allowed; school car +$30 | not stated | aasiadrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-25) | C2455 | |
| 3 | DFW Driving School 2050 W. Spring Creek Pkwy, Suite 204, Plano 75023 · 972-845-7979 | $70 | $75 | $70 on one road-test page (in its section for students 16–24 who completed a teen program); $75 (“COST of Driving Test: $75.00”) on another; confirm which applies when you book | School car +$35 | 1 attempt included; $45 each extra attempt | $35 administrative fee for reschedules and cancellations (per the page) | dfwdrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-25) | C2508 |
| 4 | Crossroad Driving School 3700 West 15th Street, Suite 204A/212A, Plano 75074 · 972-302-1517 | $75 | $75 | not stated | not stated | not stated | crossroaddrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-25) | C3419 | |
| 5 | Driving School of North Texas 204 N. Greenville, 300, Allen 75002 · 214-504-9292 6449 Coit Rd., 114, Frisco 75034 · 214-504-9292 4433 Punjah Way, 401, Frisco 75033 · 214-504-9292 | $75 | $75 | Teens and adults | School car +$50 (rental waiver required) | $40 fee to retake after failing | Non-refundable | drivingschoolofnorthtexas.com (checked 2026-10-25) | C2128 |
| 6 | Drive Auto Driving School 1720 Eldorado Pkwy, Suite 105, McKinney 75069 · 214-545-4705 | $80 | $80 | Adult and teen | not stated | not stated | driveautodrivingschool.us (checked 2026-10-25) | C3130 | |
| 7 | Ideal Driving School 4101 E. Park Blvd., Suite 147, Plano 75074 · 214-884-5350 | $80 | $80 | not stated | not stated | Re-test $40 each time | Listed as down from $100 | idealdrivingschooldallas.com (checked 2026-10-25) | C3034 |
| 8 | Secure Lane Driving School LLC 2100 W White Street, Suite 140, Anna 75409 · 972-924-8675 | $80 | $80 | not stated | $80 is a single test in your vehicle; 2 tests in your vehicle $100; 2 tests in the school’s vehicle $140 | Single test at $80 | securelanedrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-25) | C2852 | |
| 9 | Best Driving School 8901 Independence Pkwy Suite 10, Plano 75025 · 469-709-7613 | $100 | $100 | Open to eligible students from other schools | not stated | not stated | $140 with a warm-up practice drive | bestdrivingschool.us (checked 2026-10-25) | C3475 |
| 10 | Kaisar’s Driving School LLC 4645 Avon Ln #355, Frisco 75033 · 469-740-5327 | $100 | $100 | not stated | not stated | not stated | $100 per road test | kaisarsdrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-25) | C3634 |
| 11 | Blue Ridge Driving School LLC 200 W. Fm 545, Blue Ridge 75424 · 214-474-0017 | $130 | $130 | not stated | not stated | not stated | Price is for “Road Test and Paperwork Upload” | brdrivingschool.com (checked 2026-10-25) | C3491 |
| 12 | Collision Free Driver Ed 2770 Main Street (meet at Yeager Office Suites), Frisco 75033 · 1-800-562-6405 6225 Custer Rd., Frisco 75035 · 1-800-562-6405 2770 Main Street, Frisco 75033 · 1-800-562-6405 9375 Legacy Dr., Frisco 75034 · 1-800-562-6405 | $159 | $159 | not stated | not stated | not stated | $159 each | driveredinabox.com (checked 2026-10-25) | C2283 |
Prices don’t include the DPS license fee you pay separately (for example, $33 for a new license at age 18–84, $16 under 18)[3].
Sites with no posted price (3)
These schools are on the DPS road-test list here, but we didn’t find a road-test price on their own website when we checked on October 25, 2026. That doesn’t mean they cost more. Call them.
| School (DPS listing) | Test site address | Phone | Price | TDLR license |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Asian Driving School | 3200 14th Street, Suite 502, Plano 75074 | 214-424-2222 | Price not posted | C3428A (name match) |
| DriversTest Now | 4645 Wyndham Ln #120A, Frisco 75034 | 972-987-5641 | Price not posted | not matched |
| Wylie Driving School | 808 S. Ballard Avenue, Wylie 75098 | 972-442-6200 | Price not posted | C3430 |
Richardson, Garland and other Dallas County sites are on our DFW page. Comparing on price across all of DFW? See the cheapest third-party road test in DFW.
Before you book
- Check that you qualify for a school-given test (age, driver ed certificate, learner license, Impact Texas Drivers certificate within 90 days)[1]. Our guide walks through it: How to get a Texas road test without waiting months at DPS.
- Ask whether the price includes the school’s car, how many attempts it covers, and the fee to reschedule.
- Check the school’s TDLR license number on TDLR’s provider search. “Name match” means we matched it on name only[4].
- After you pass, you still finish your license at DPS.
FAQ
Can I take my Texas road test at a driving school in Plano or Frisco?
Yes, if you qualify. DPS lists 20 school-run road-test sites in Collin County and Frisco, in Allen, Anna, Blue Ridge, Frisco, McKinney, Plano, Wylie.
How much is a third-party road test in Plano, Frisco or McKinney?
Posted prices here range from $65 to $159. 3 sites don’t post a price.
Is a driving-school road test official?
Yes. Schools on the DPS Third Party Skills Testing list give the official Class C drive test[1]. You still finish your license at DPS.
“Price not posted” means we did not find a road-test price on the school’s own website when we checked on October 21, 2026. Call the school. Prices change; always confirm before you book. DPS says fees for tests given by driver education schools “are not regulated by the Department” (DPS).
Sources
- DPS: Third Party Skills Testing (TPST) Program
- DPS: Schedule a drive test at an authorized TPST school (school list)
- DPS: Driver License Fees
- TDLR: Driver education license data files
- r/frisco: “Looking for an EASY DPS ROAD TEST SPOT” (Jun 2024)
- r/plano: “Driving lessons” (Mar 2025)
School list: DPS TPST list, retrieved October 21, 2026. Names, addresses and phones are as DPS lists them. Area = sites DPS lists under Collin County, plus Frisco sites it lists under Denton County. Prices: each school’s own page, checked October 25, 2026. DFW Driving School and Kaisar’s Driving School began posting road-test prices since our last check.